new new irish jazz orchestra 

The New Irish Jazz Orchestra is a professional, large jazz ensemble that provides a representative platform for Ireland’s finest jazz improvising talent, big band virtuosi and - most importantly - composers and arrangers.

The Orchestra has evolved from a seven-year series of highly successful collective projects conceived and directed by Paul Dunlea. The members of the orchestra are drawn from all over the island of Ireland and represent the cream of Irish improvising talent.

Individually they have travelled the globe as a result of performance and recording duties and this wealth of experience is evident in their mastery of music for large ensemble.

The ultimate goal of the Orchestra, through performance oppertunities such as this one, is to build a repository of contemporary Irish jazz in the big band idiom.

Previous collaborations with artists from other genres include - Martin Hayes, Mick Flannery, Cathal Coughlan & Camille O' Sullivan

The following is the Orchestra's current line-up

MD/Arranger/Composer: Paul Dunlea

Sax/Woodwinds: Brendan Doyle, Mark Wilde, Karl Rooney, Michael Lynch, John O’Connor

Trumpets: Ryan Quigley, Eamon Nolan, Tom Walsh, Linley Hamilton

Trombones: Michael Marshall, Trevor Mires, Eoghan Kelly, Paul Frost Rhythm Section: Cormac McCarthy(piano), Julian Colarossi(guitar), Dan Bodwell(bass), Alyn Cosker (drums), Laoise Leahy (Vocals)